Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2020

Hi guys! Since we’re basically at the halfway point of this year, I thought it would be nice to do the mid-year freak out book tag. Let’s hope the rest of 2020 has good things in store for all of us!

This tag was originally created by IsThatChami and EarlGreyBooks. I hope you enjoy it, let’s start!

1.Best book you’ve read so far in 2020

It’s really difficult to choose, so I’m gonna start this tag by kind of cheating and giving you a few answers for this one. Sorry not sorry.
The first book’s definitely The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune. I wasn’t sure I was going to like this story, but I ended up loving it so much. Even though it’s been months since I read it I still find myself thinking about it.
The other book I want to mention is With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo. She’s a writer whose works I always deeply enjoy and I completely fell in love with this story and Emoni, the main character.

2.Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2020

heartstopper volume 3

I’ve just realized that I haven’t read many sequels this year. So, I’m going to say Heartstopper Volume 3 by Alice Oseman, this comic book series keeps getting better and better with each new volume.

3.New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender. It was released in May and I cannot wait to have this book in my hands. I was already really looking forward to it, but after reading some reviews I’m even more eager to read it.felix ever after

4.Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

I’ve got a few that I’m very looking forward to. They are Loveless by Alice Oseman, The Friend Scheme by Cale Dietrich, Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas, Brothersong by T.J. Klune. The release dates of all these books have been pushed one or more times and I just cannot wait to see them released into the world and finally grab a copy, I think I’ve definitely done my fair share of waiting.

5.Biggest disappointment

I’ve got two answers for this one. The first is the last book in the Shatter Me series, Imagine Me by Tahereh Mafi. I wasn’t expecting a five-star read, but I didn’t expect it to be so bad. In my opinion, the novel was full of plot holes and it definitely wasn’t the ending that this series deserved.
The other disappointment is The Fascinators by Andrew Eliopulos. They tricked me by comparing it to The Raven Boys and I fell for it. Jokes aside, I wasn’t really looking for something like The Raven Boys, I just wanted a good book and this was not it. The magic system wasn’t explained and not even useful, a lot of things were left unresolved and the plot left a lot to be desired.

6.Biggest surprise

 My biggest surprise was probably Anna K by Jenny Lee. I actually didn’t realize how much I needed a YA retelling of the Russian classic Anna Karenina. If this is something that might interest you, I urge you to give it a chance, it was great! Also, you can read my full review here.

anna k

7.Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

K. Ancrum you guys!!! I don’t even know why I waited this long to read The Wicker King when I knew deep in my soul that I was going to love it. Now I just want to read every single thing this author decides to write.

33158541

8.New fictional crush

This is a tricky one, I think I still have to find my fictional crush for this year. For now, let’s say that Oliver in Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall is a possible contender. He is the sweetest guy and I just deeply enjoyed his personality.

boyfriend material

9.Newest favourite character

Thomas Lightwood must be protected at all costs and that’s all I have to say about this. Cassandra Clare, please don’t let me down, you know what you have to do to make him happy.

chain of gold

10.Book that made you cry

cerulean sea

The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune, that man just makes me cry with his wonderful words and the fuzzy feelings he includes in his novels. They’re my kryptonite.

11.Book that made you happy

date me, bryson keller

Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin van Whye. It is the cutest feeling-good book and it has so many sweet moments, if you’re looking for an adorable read this is definitely it. Also, you can check out my full review for this novel here.

12.Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)what we don't talk about

It’s not here with me yet because it’s a pre-order and it’s supposed to come out in a few days, but I’m sure that the right answer for this question is What We Don’t Talk About, a beautiful graphic novel by Charlot Kristensen. The art is gorgeous and I’m really looking forward to reading this story.

13.What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

My TBR is truly endless, as always. But some books I totally want to read are The Regrets by Amy Bonnaffons, The Truants by Kate Weinberg, Something like Gravity by Amber Smith, American Panda by Gloria Cho, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab.

 

That’s it for today, I hope you enjoyed this tag! How is your reading year going? What was your favourite book so far? And what are you hoping to read in the second half of 2020?

Talk to you soon,

emma