Books As Songs from Melodrama by Lorde

Like you probably noticed, books and music are two of my favourite passions, so I would like to start a series in which I combine different books with different albums from various artists that I enjoyed. I already did that with Lover by Taylor Swift and Fine Line by Harry Styles, and this time I decided to do it with another masterpiece, Melodrama by Lorde.
Hope you enjoy, let’s get started!

1. Green Light – Daisy Jones And The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

“All those rumors, they have big teeth
Oh, they bite you
Thought you said that you would always be in love
But you’re not in love no more
Did it frighten you
How we kissed when we danced on the light up floor?”

This book is so good, I can’t even begin to describe it. It’s probably the best book I’ve read in 2020, I still think about it after months. It talks about ambitious people, and I interpreted that green light in the song in this particular case to be a big inspiration or a dream. Also, the relationship described in this song is not the healthiest one, and the ones in Daisy Jones are also particularly fu**d up to say the least. But if I recommend you a book, it’s this one, I love complicated people in books, they’re so realistic.

daisy jones and the six

 

2. Sober – Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

Ah, when you dream with the fever
Bet you wish you could touch our rush
But what will we do when we’re sober?”

No spoiler, but if you read this book you know what I refer to when I say that one character is particularly “drunk” on some magic, some enchantment that does not let him see straight. And when he’s “sober” he can see who’s the one he truly loves. I can’t wait to see more in book two, I’m so excited.

chain of gold

3. Homemade Dynamite – The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

Our rules, our dreams, we’re blind
Blowing shit up with homemade d-d-d-dynamite
Our friends, our drinks, we get inspired
Blowing shit up with homemade d-d-d-dynamite
Blowing shit up with homemade d-d-d-dynamite.”

I discovered The Bone Witch series only this year, but I’m so glad I did. I loved this one so much, I hadn’t fallen in love with a fantasy trilogy for a very long time. This song reminds me of a couple in these books that it’s particularly – explosive, to say the least. They blew my mind and my heart with their banter and their love. They will forever have a special place in my heart.

the heart forger

4. The Louvre – The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Our thing progresses, I call and you come through
Blow all my friendships to sit in hell with you
But we’re the greatest, they’ll hang us in the Louvre
Down the back, but who cares, still the Louvre.”

This song gives me seriously Dark Academia vibes, I can’t even begin to explain why. But I think this one fits perfectly with The Secret History. It’s dark, because it also talks about violence, but also in a sort of psychopathic way. And I mean, the characters in The Secret History are amazing for how well they’re written but they’re certainly not good people. Also, this song is amazing, maybe my favourite on the album, so it could only go with one of my favourite books ever.

the secret history

5. Liability – We Contain Multitudes by Sarah Henstra

“Baby really hurt me
Crying in the taxi
He don’t wanna know me
Says he made the big mistake of dancing in my storm
Says it was poison
So I guess I’ll go home.”

This song might seem a little bit harsh for a YA book, but believe me this YA book is dark. And even though this story then goes for the better, at the beginning one of the two main characters is a bit of an ars****e, even though I get why he thinks in a certain way. I get him, but I don’t condone him. Yeah, this book is difficult to read, I still think about it after a year.

we contain multitudes

6. Hard Feelings/Loveless – Normal People by Sally Rooney

“Hard feelings
These are what they call hard feelings of love
When the sweet words and fevers all leave us right here in the cold, oh oh
Alone with the hard feelings of love
God, I wish I believed you when you told me this was my h
ome.”

You don’t need an explanation from me after reading these verses, guys. Now I’m actually crying. Normal People is one of my favourite books of all time and the feelings in this book are so real that they actually make me weak. I can’t even begin to describe how good this book is. And the TV series too, if you haven’t seen it I highly recommend it, it’s my favourite series of this 2020 so far. The actors are really good (and Paul Mescal guys – that chain, I’m weak).

41086877._SY475_

7. Sober II (Melodrama) – The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

“And the terror and the horror,
God I wonder why we bother.
All the glamour and the trauma
And the fuckin’ melodrama, whoa, whoa.”

Another amazing book by Taylor Jenkins Reid. This follows the story of Evelyn Hugo, a fictional actress in the golden years of Hollywood. The atmosphere Jenkins Reid is able to create in this book will submerge you in the story and you will want to know everything about this amazing woman. There’s a lot of glamour, a lot of trauma and a lot of melodrama, I guarantee.

the seven

8. Writer In The Dark – Swear On This Life by Renee Carlino

Bet you rue the day you kissed a writer in the dark
Now she’s gonna play and sing and lock you in her heart
Bet you rue the day you kissed a writer in the dark.”

I read this book quite some time ago, so I remember almost close to nothing of it, but I remember the premise being that a guy wrote a book about his childhood sweetheart, and they had a difficult relationship. I think it fits perfectly with the theme of this song, which is one of my favourites on this album.

818faypvkjl

9. Supercut – Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

In your car, the radio up
In your car, the radio up
We keep trying to talk about us
I’m someone you maybe might love
I’ll be your quiet afternoon crush
Be your violent overnight rush
Make you crazy over my touch
But it’s just a supercut of us.”

This is actually quite simple, since every time I hear about a car ride in a song I instantly think about Emma and Julian from The Dark Artifices series. It’s like now they own car rides in my head lol. But, jokes aside, I really think this song is perfect to depict this relationship.

lady midnight

10. Liability (Reprise) – Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman

All of the dreams that get harder
All of the things that I offer you
And all of the shit that we harbour
Make all of the kids in the choirs sing woo-hoo.”

This might be a bit harsh since I totally adore this book, but I strongly think that at some points the differences between Elio and Oliver were what made them take the decisions they did take in the end of the book (I do not consider Find Me as canon, sorry, that’s just how my mind works). Sometimes you find the stars, but sometimes life just gets in the way.

812SKExc1tL

11. Perfect Places – The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

“All of the things we’re taking
‘Cause we are young and we’re ashamed
Send us to perfect places
All of our heroes fading
Now I can’t stand to be alone
Let’s go to perfect places”

For this one I’m thinking about The Raven Boys because of the dreams factor. I totally think that there’s something mysterious and haunting in this song, and mysterious and haunting are the adjectives I would use to describe this fantasy saga. It is one of my favourites of all times.

tha raven boys

So guys, we’ve come to the conclusion of this article, I hope you enjoyed, see you soon with another one,
62F9DC83BDFF20522FA45EAF9D805A42

 

2 thoughts on “Books As Songs from Melodrama by Lorde

Comments are closed.