The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2021

Hi, guys, can you believe that it’s already June? I cannot believe it, time really flies.
For this reason, I wanted to show you how my reading year is going, and chat with you about all my experiences in these first six months of the year.
This book tag was originally created by Chami and Earl Grey Books on YouTube, and I think it’s really funny to do every year.
Are you ready? Let’s go!

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2021
Without a doubt, 100%, People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry. She’s I think my favourite romance writer of the last years, and this book even surpassed Beach Read in my eyes. This friends to lovers story is just the sweetest and most tender ever and I can’t wait to read more by Henry.

People We Meet on Vacation


2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2021
Capturing The Devil by Kerri Maniscalco, the fourth and final book in the Stalking Jack The Ripper series. It was so much fun and definitely my favourite in the series. I will miss these characters so much!

Capturing the devil

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to
Definitely Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid. I love her latest works, and this one seems just like my cup of tea. I can’t wait to read it as soon as I can, the plot is just so fascinating.

malibu rising

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year
Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney. She’s one of my favourite authors, her style is just so mesmerizing and fresh, I think she gets young people so well, and I can’t wait to know more about these new characters and their stories.

beautiful world, where are you

 

5. Biggest Disappointment
Oh my God, don’t even get me started on Lore by Alexandra Bracken. I really did not like this book, it was so messy. I am a big Greek mythology fan and I had a lot of expectations, but this book was just not it for me. Truly disappointing.

Lore


6. Biggest Surprise
I had expectations for this one, but I really did not expect to love The Binding by Bridget Collins as much as I did. I found out that this book has all of my favourite tropes, the prose was amazing, I immersed myself in the book, I rooted for the characters, and I fell in love with their love. Highly recommended!

The binding

7. Favourite new author (debut or new to you)
Definitely Bridget Collins. I had never read anything by her, but I was fascinated with her prose and her writing style. I for sure want to read more by her.

The binding

8. Newest fictional crush
Alex from People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry. He’s the sweetest guy ever, and he would do anything for the people he loves. I had a bit of a crush on him while I was reading the book.

People We Meet on Vacation

9. Newest favourite character
Definitely Lucian from The Binding by Bridget Collins. I was mesmerized by his actions, and even though I don’t agree or condone some of them, I loved to read about him and to read his POV.

The binding

10. Book that made you cry
I won’t go into details about how or why, because it could be spoilery but I cried a lot during My Policeman by Bethan Roberts. Some events that take place in this book are very sad and moving, and I can’t wait to see how they will turn them in the movie.
Did I read this because of Harry Styles? Yes, yes I did. But nonetheless it’s a book I would recommend if you, like me, like the “discovering one-self” kind of stories.

my policeman

11. Book that made you happy
I hate to repeat myself so I’ll be brief: People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry. It gave me all the feels, but most of all it made me so happy.

People We Meet on Vacation

12. The most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)
It still has to arrive to my house, but I will say without a doubt Ariadne by Jennifer Saint. The cover is stunning, and I think the book will be too.

ariadne

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
Any way the wind blows by Rainbow Rowell, Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire Sáenz and Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney. These are definitely my priorities.

14. Favourite book to movie adaptation you’ve seen this year?
I admit I haven’t seen a lot of them this year, but maybe my favourite one so far was Always and Forever, Lara Jean based on the popular book by Jenny Han. It was a sweet conclusion to the trilogy and I appreciated it a lot.

always and forever lara jean

Okay guys, those were my answers. If you want to let me know some of yours in the comment section down below, feel free to do so.
Thank you so much for reading, until next time,

62F9DC83BDFF20522FA45EAF9D805A42