10 Authors I’ve discovered in 2021

At the end of every year I like to do a little recap and see which new authors I’ve discovered. They might be debut authors or just new-to-me ones whose books I finally managed to read, but one thing is certain: now they are all authors whose books I look forward to reading in the future.

Micah Nemerever

these violent

I read his book, These Violent Delights, back in January and I still think about it to this day, which is something quite unusual for me. There’s nothing announced yet, but I’m very curious to see what  he comes up with next!

Sayaka Murata

Convenience Store Woman

I approached this author because I was seeing her novel Convenience Store Woman literally everywhere and it definitely did not disappoint, it was such a brilliant read! In 2022 I really want to read her newest 2020 release, Earthlings.

Morgan Rogers

Honey Girl

I started reading Honey Girl hoping for something different but in the end I found something so much better than what I was expecting. This book totally took me by surprise and this new literary voice felt relatable like few others.

Cath Crowley

Words in Deep Blue

Words in Deep Blue is definitely one of my favourite reads of the year and it made me so curious to check out this author’s other books, I really hope to get to them in 2022.

Min Jin Lee

pachinko

Pachinko stole my heart and soul and I don’t even want them back. I can see myself reading books by this author for a very long time.

Chloe Liese

only when it's us

I think this is one of my new favourite romance authors out there. I read Only When It’s Us and I really enjoyed it, I’m looking forward to reading more by her!

Axie Oh

xoxo

I’ve only read a YA contemporary by her, called XOXO, but I’m so curious to check out her fantasy books, I hope to get the chance to do so in 2022.

Elena Armas

the spanish love deception

She’s another romance author I want to keep my eye on in 2022. I loved The Spanish Love Deception and I’m sure that her next novel won’t disappoint!

Olivie Blake

The Atlas Six

I read The Atlas Six last month and I completely loved it. I also ordered one of her other novels, Alone With You in the Ether and I’m planning to read it soon. I love the characters she creates and I cannot wait to read more of them.

Raquel Vasquez Gilliland

How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe

She is my newest addition, I finished reading her novel How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe just a few days ago. It’s a gorgeous novel and it was written so beautifully! I definitely plan to read more by her in 2022.

That’s all for today, I hope you enjoyed reading. I would love to know who your new favourite authors are for this year, if you want you can leave their names in a comment down below.

Thanks again for reading,

emma