The Six Tudor Queens Book Tag

Hey there. It’s been a long time since I did a tag, but in these days, I saw that “The Six Tudors Queen” book tag was popular on Booktube, and since I love English history, in particular regarding the monarchy, I couldn’t help but partake in it. Of course, this is a very sad part of English history, but it’s interesting nevertheless, and the media that depict it are some of my favourites of all time, like for example “The Spanish Princess”, and “The Other Boleyn Girl”. The tag was created by Gem of Books on Youtube and I will leave the link here.
So, let’s get started.

Katherine of Aragon – A book that was your first love

I could say a lot of titles for this one, but in the end, I think I’ll go with Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. Never ever has a book made me feel that way, and you can tease me about it and make fun of me if you want, but Twilight was the book that pushed me to get to reading more and to become the reader I am now, after all these years. There’s a reason why it was so popular and so well beloved, and a part of it was for sure that it gave us a sense of community and I will forever be grateful to it for that.
Also, Katherine of Aragon is my beloved, if you haven’t, please watch The Spanish Princess, it’s one of my favourite series of the last few years, and it depicts her character so well.

twilight

Anne Boleyn – A manipulative character

Everyone, and I mean everyone in The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake. This was a book I read last year and completely caught me by surprise, but I have to say that, like in every good Dark Academia, these characters are not the best under any circumstances. I mean, they of course have their own perks, but being in a secret society where only five will go through and one of them has to die, you can certainly see that there will be some manipulation going on behind closed doors. But if you like Dark Academia, this is God-Tier and I highly recommend it.

The Atlas Six

Jane Seymour – A book that delivered what you wanted


I will go with a series for this one, and one I read quite recently. The Bargainer series by Laura Thalassa delivered exactly what I wanted. I mean, I just wanted to have fun and read some fantasy romance, which is one of my favourite genres, and this book had exactly all the tropes I expected and that you also would expect in a classic fantasy romance book. If you liked ACOTAR or this kind of fae books, pick up this series, it’s way better than some more popular series that are everywhere right now. Also, the series gets better with each book, so win win.

rhapsodixc

Anne of Cleaves – A book that wasn’t what you expected

Sadly, I have to say My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh. I don’t know what I was expecting to be honest, but for sure not to loathe that novel so much. That was such a shallow depiction of mental health and the 2000s in my opinion, and the prose was so damn annoying and lyrical just for the sake of being lyrical that like, please… no. I don’t want to think about that book ever again in my life. I was just so frustrated while reading it and I just wanted it to end, to be honest.

My year of rest and relaxation

Katherine Howard – A book that irritated you


I could go on and on, I have a lot of unpopular opinions, but for this, I think I’ll go with Wilder Girls by Rory Power. This book just had SO. MUCH. POTENTIAL, and in the end it felt so flat? Like, the audacity? I put so much hope in that book and it ended up betraying me in the worst way by being irritating and boring. I just did not connect at all with it, sadly.

wilder girls

Katherine Parr – A book published after the death of the author

Wow, that’s… a lot of Katherines, I’ve never noticed it. By the way, moving on, after doing some research I decided to go with Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. It was published in 1818, after the death of the writer, and it’s a book I remember with such fond memories. I read it in the Netherlands, the first time I went to Amsterdam, and I had the best time ever reading it. It might not be her best work, but it is such a fun parody of her own works, I always saw it like that, that it’s for sure one of her funnier ones.

northanger abbey

Henry VIII – A chunky book that you hated


I can’t even – so, we were saying. Chunky book I hated? Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I won’t elaborate. It wasn’t fun. Mixed media is not my thing, space is not my thing, unoriginal plots are not my thing. I’m so petty when it comes to that book, I will stop right away.

illuminae

Okay guys, we have come to the end of this bizarre, but for sure fun tag. Let me know some of the answers to these questions if you want to and leave in a comment down below your favourite piece of media related to this history period.
Hope you enjoyed, thanks for reading,

62F9DC83BDFF20522FA45EAF9D805A42

2 thoughts on “The Six Tudor Queens Book Tag

  1. Oh my gosh. I am in love with this tag and your post! Definitely will be putting my own together for next week. This is pure gold. Plus my blog is a book & history blog combined, so this just works! Also, I LOVE twilight too. I haven’t read anything else on your list but some sound intriguing. All and all what a great post! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ow, thank you so much, I’m so glad you enjoyed it, and I’m so curious to read your post when it comes up!

      Like

Comments are closed.