The Winter Essentials Book Tag

This lovely tag was created by taylor reads on Youtube (you can find it here), and I decided to do it because it’s quite cold where I live, and it really feels like Winter. In these days I just want to read curled up under a blanket, with a hot beverage on my bedside. So, let’s get started.

  1. Crackling Fire – Who is your favourite cold character who warmed up towards the end?

There is only one answer, and that is Baz from “Carry On” by Rainbow Rowell. Baz is simply one of my favourite characters of all time, the complexity Rowell used to depict him simply astonishes me. Baz is a wonderfully layered character, who comes across as cold, but has a heart of gold.

carry on

2. Snowflakes – What is a book that was full of unique characters?

For sure, “The Secret History” by Donna Tartt. The characters are what makes this book so great. They are all so different from each other, in particular Henry is a character that I consider one of a kind, I’ve never read anything like him before or after I read this novel. I still think about him sometimes.

the secret history

3. Gingerbread Family – Which fictional family would you want to be a part of?

 The Blackthorn family from “The Dark Artifices” by Cassandra Clare. I just think it’s one of the best families I have ever read about. It is not the happiest family for sure, but the love between them is just so special and I get tears in my eyes when I think about what Julian Blackthorn did for his family.

lady midnight

4. Blizzard – What is a book that had you confused the whole time?

“The 7 and a half deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle” by Stuart Turton. I’m not the biggest mystery girl out there, but this book just left me confused, and maybe it was a me thing, but I also think it was a book thing. It is actually too long, in my opinion, and the ending not quite so satisfying after what it put me through the whole time. Personal opinion, of course.

Seven Deaths Evelyn

5. Gift Giving – What is the last book that was gifted to you?

I received a lot of amazing books for Christmas from my wonderful friends, they would be too many to list, I’m that lucky, but just to say some of them, “Her Majesty’s Royal Coven” by Juno Dawson, “The Spanish Love Deception” by Elena Armas and “The Lost Apothecary” by Sarah Penner.

6. Snowball – What is the biggest book you’ve ever read?

I think to this day it still is “Kingdom of Ash” by Sarah J. Maas, but it was so worth it to be honest, it’s one of my favourite last books in a series ever.

kingdom-of-ash-1

7. Wrapping Paper – What is your most beat up book?

I would have to say “The Nowhere Girls” by Amy Reed. I only read it once, but I was drinking hot chocolate while reading it, and it did not end well for the poor book, I’ll be honest.

the nowhere girls

8. Christmas Lights – What is a book you own that has many colours on the cover?

I think “I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson, a wonderful book with a wonderful cover, that I highly recommend.

220px-I'll_Give_You_the_Sun

9. Ice Skating – What is a book that had a plot that was all over the place?

“This is How You Lose the Time War” by Amal El-Mothar and Max Gladstone. It was not at all a bad book, but the plot is convoluted, and sometimes it left you wondering where we are and what we are talking about. I would have liked maybe a bit more pages, so the plot could have been better explained.

this is how you lose the time war

10. Christmas Tree – Who is your favourite character of all time? Yes, you can only choose one.

I don’t even have to think about it one second, it’s Will Herondale from “The Infernal Devices” trilogy by Cassandra Clare. Will for me is a real person, I know it’s crazy, but I grew so attached to this brilliant and complex boy, that I will always think about him as a person I really know, a friend almost. Will is an amazing character, I have never read about anyone that could compare to him after these books.

clockwork angel

11. The Star – What’s a book you look forward to re-reading each year?

 I don’t re-read books, almost never, but this year I re-read “Daisy Jones and the Six” by Taylor Jenkins Reid in anticipation of the TV Show, and this book held up so freaking well for me. It’s just an amazing novel, one of my favourites of all times, I just think the characters feel so real, the format is really strong, and this story touches my heart every time.

daisy jones and the six

Okay guys, we have come to the end of this tag. Let me know down below some of the answers you would give to these questions, if you want, and I’ll talk to you soon,

62F9DC83BDFF20522FA45EAF9D805A42