Watching Books – June 2023

Hey guys, we are halfway through the year and we have a lot of bookish adaptations news that came out in the month of June. They’re all very interesting, so without waiting, let’s get started.

  • First news is that“The Lunar Chronicles” by Marissa Meyer will be turned into an animation series. Warner Bros. Motion Picture Group has signed a deal with Locksmith Animation to produce it. The well-known series is a sci-fi twist on some very famous fairytales, like Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. This will be very interesting for sure.

    cinder

  • The makers of the Netflix series “The Crown” will adapt the novel “Her Majesty’s Royal Coven” by Juno Dawson into a TV Show. Jess Brittain (who has worked on Skins) will work on it. The book, of which the sequel will come out very soon, follows a coven of witches that protects the crown and the country. I can’t wait to read the book and see the TV Show after that.

    her majesty's royal coven

 

  • One of my favourite news is that we have the first look at the “Red, White & Royal Blue” movie, based on the book by Casey McQuiston. It seems very faithful to the book, which I LOVE, and I can’t honestly wait to see it, I have really high hopes. The movie will debut on Amazon Prime Video on August 11th.
  • We also had a first look at the second season of “The Summer I Turned Pretty”, based on the trilogy by Jenny Han. We had some pictures, but most of all the teaser trailer debuted and it features a superior version of August by Taylor Swift, I wanted it on Spotify like yesterday. The series will premiere on Amazon Prime Video on July 14th.
  • Speaking of trailers, we also had the one of the movie adaptation of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (you can watch it here), another movie I can’t WAIT to see since I loved the book with all of my heart. The movie will be out in theatres on September 8th.

  • The “It Ends with Us” movie, based on the novel by Colleen Hoover, has been put on pause until the end of the Writer’s Strike. The production may reprise later.

it ends with us

 

 

  • Tudum”, the yearly Netflix event, gave us the first look at the new season of “Bridgerton”, based on the books by Julia Quinn. I’m a Polin stan account so these pictures blessed me, they changed my life, the lot. I’m so glad we have the Polin season next, I can’t wait.

  • We also have the first trailer for the “One Piece” movie, based on the manga by Eiichirō Oda. I’m no expert, but it seems really cool. It will debut on Netflix on August 31th.

 

  • We have the first poster and also the release date for “The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart”, a seven-part television series based on the book by Holly Ringland. You can also watch the series trailer here (link). It will debut on Amazon Prime Video on August 4th.

the last flowers

 

  • And last but certainly not least, one of the biggest news for this month is that the “A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder” series, based on the books by Holly Jackson, has found its protagonists. Emma Myers (Wednesday) will star as Pip and newcomer Zain Iqbal will play Ravi. I really like this casting, I can’t wait to watch it.

 

Okay guys, these are all the news we have for this month, I hope you enjoy them. Let me know your favourite with a comment down below, if you want.

Talk to you soon,

 

62F9DC83BDFF20522FA45EAF9D805A42

2 thoughts on “Watching Books – June 2023

Comments are closed.