The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

Title: The Dream Thieves

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Synopsis (from Goodreads): Blue didn’t mean to fall for the Raven Boys, but she has – and the more her life entwines with theirs, the more dangerous it becomes.
Ronan is the most dangerous of all.
He’s the haunted one, the darkest, the most raven.
His dreams invade reality and confuse what is true.
With magic growing stronger around them, now is a time to be wary. Before everything unravels …
Friendships will be tested. Someone will get hurt.
And a kiss will be shared.

Rating: 4.25/5 stars

This review contains minor spoilers.

I didn’t know what to expect from this sequel but for sure I wasn’t expecting to like it so much! After liking a lot the first novel I was a bit afraid that this new installment wouldn’t be as good as The Raven Boys but I’m so happy to be incorrect. There were so many things going on and after the big introduction that was the first book, I was very glad to see things moving and developing.
What I liked the most about this book was for sure its innovative plot. The main concept of the dream realm and how it worked was very original and I was curious all the time to know more about it. Not to mention my lovely Ronan. He definitely stood out in this novel. His character development was huge and well done and I felt very satisfied with Stiefvater work. He is definitely the character that shone the most, I was very glad I finally had the chance to know him better, with his pros and cons and also the big heart he has inside himself. I just want him to be always safe and happy and loved and I cannot wait to see what the next book has in store for him.
Another thing that I really liked was witnessing the blossoming of Gansey and Blue’s relationship. I can feel their struggle, I can feel their passion, I can feel that I’m going to cry about what is going to happen between them and I don’t think I’m ready to see it. I can predict it will be a punch in my stomach.
A character I wasn’t the biggest fan of was, unfortunately, Adam. I still see him as a boy that needs to figure out who he is and his place in the world. I didn’t like his bursts of rage and I just hope that this is all part of a plan that will be developed better in the next novel. I just want to love him as much as the other Raven Boys.
The only thing I’m still trying to figure out is the ending. I felt it too rushed and the epilogue left me completely puzzled. After it, I don’t know what to expect from the next book but I just hope it will be as good as the first two installments!

So, here are my opinions about The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, hope you enjoyed reading about them. If you would like to let me know your own thoughts or if you would like to talk about what I said in this review, please leave them in a comment down below! Thanks for reading.

4 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

  1. Loved reading your thoughts on ‘The Dream Thieves,” I posted my review on this book on Monday and can see a lot of similarities in our impression of the story. This series has a knack for a chaotic way of telling the story where you don’t quite know how its all going to turn out and some fun and interesting characters. I especially enjoyed the mythology and dream magic – it felt so unique. Looking forward to seeing what you think of ‘Blue Lily, Lily Blue.’

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I totally agree! I like Stiefvater’s writing style because you never know what’s going to happen next or why. I just let myself being carried around wherever the author wants 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment