The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson – Review

Title: The Final Empire (Mistborn 1)

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Synopsis (from Goodreads): For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark.
Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Then Kelsier reveals his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.
But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she’s a half-Skaa orphan, but she’s lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets. She will have to learn trust if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.
Brandon Sanderson, fantasy’s newest master tale-spinner and author of the acclaimed debut Elantris, dares to turn a genre on its head by asking a simple question: What if the prophesied hero failed to defeat the Dark Lord? The answer will be found in the Mistborn Trilogy, a saga of surprises that begins with the book in your hands. Fantasy will never be the same again.  out

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

This review is completely spoiler-free!

So, here we are with a new review of one of the books of my Reading Challenge! This was (finally) the time to read the first book in the well-known and beloved series of Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. And now I know what the fuss is all about. Let’s talk about it better.
First of all, as usual, the writing style. I have to admit that it was very good. It was always fluent and my eyes kept reading without any problem. Sometimes I felt it to be a bit slow, but it gave the right pace to the reading experience and to what was happening in that moment.
What I really enjoyed about the writing style of this author is that everything has its place. I knew that Sanderson is a master in creating stories, but I didn’t expect them to be crafted with such attention to the detail. Everything happens for a reason and is explained why it happened or why it didn’t happen. Every single thing is explained and all the pieces work together because they can. There is nothing left to chance or without a reason. And that’s what I really admired all the time. I felt like I was embraced all the time, and safe, because I knew I could trust the author and be led all the way through the plot.
Now, the plot is something that really kept me glued to the pages. Every now and then there is a new discovery that makes you even more curious about what will happen next and I was so happy with that. Even in some slow parts I never felt bored and for me this is one of the greatest qualities a book should have.
Talking about the cast of characters, I must say that I have created a special place in my heart for all of them. My favourite two were Vin and Kelsier, the true engines of this novel. I really loved reading about their points of view, the relationship that grew between them and how both of them learned from the other. It was such a breath of fresh air and now I’m so eager to read more about Vin and what will await her in the next installments!
You might wonder why I gave this book a 4.5 star rating instead of a full 5 stars. The only reason is that I expect so much from the future two installments of this trilogy that I want to reserve the highest rating for one of them. Consider me sold, I’m obsessed with Vin’s story.

So, these were my opinions about The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson, hope you enjoyed reading about them! If you would like to let me know your own thoughts or you would like to talk about what I said in this review, leave a comment down below! Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment