The World Cannot Give by Tara Isabella Burton – Bookish Playlist

Hi there,

Every two months we host a book club on our Goodreads group and at the end of the month I will bring you a bookish playlist to go with the book we just finished reading.

Book club pick for the month of  July 2022: The World Cannot Give by Tara Isabella Burton.

 

The World Cannot Give(1)

(The moodboard credits are mine. Please give rights if you use it. The singular photos are not mine, all credits to the owner.)

 

PLAYLIST

Atlantis by Seafret
“I can’t save us, my Atlantis, we fall
We built this town on shaky ground
I can’t save us, my Atlantis, oh, no
We built it up to pull it down”

Bury a Friend by Billie Eilish
“Step on the glass, staple your tongue (Ahh-ha)
Bury a friend, try to wake up (Ahh-ha)
Cannibal class, killin’ the son (Ahh)
Bury a friend, I wanna end me”

  The Tradition by Halsey
“Take what you want, take what you can
Take what you please, don’t give a damn
Ask for forgiveness, never permission
Take what you want, take what you can
Take what you please, don’t give a damn
It’s in the blood and this is tradition”

Greek Tragedy by Wombats
“Oh and she hits like ecstasy
Comes up and bangs the sense out of me
It’s wrong but surely worse to leave
She hits like ecstasy
So free up the cheaper seats
Here comes a Greek tragedy”

–  Only The Good Die Young by Billy Joel
“So come on, Virginia, show me a sign
Send up a signal, I’ll throw you the line
The stained-glass curtain you’re hiding behind
Never let’s in the sun”

Freaks by Surf Curse 
“My head is filled with parasites
Black holes cover up my eyes
I dream of you almost every night
Hopefully I won’t wake up this time”

–  ‘Til Forever Falls Apart by Ashe & FINNEAS
“We’ve been living on a fault line
And for a while, you were all mine
I’ve spent a lifetime giving you my heart
I swear that I’ll be yours forever
‘Til forever falls apart.”

Bells in Santa Fe by Halsey
“Don’t call me by my name
All of this is temporary
Watch as I slip away
For your sake
All of this is temporary”

Things We Lost in The Fire by Bastille
“Flames they licked the walls
Tenderly they turned to dust all that I adore”

Roslyn by Bon Iver & St. Vincent
“Down’s sitting around

Folds in the gown
Sea and the rock below
Cocked to the undertow”

–  Ivy by Taylor Swift
“Oh, I can’t
Stop you putting roots in my dreamland
My house of stone, your ivy grows
And now I’m covered in you”

A Church is Burning by Simon & Garfunkel
“Like hands that are praying, aglow in the sky
Like hands that are praying, the fire is saying
“You can burn down my churches, but I shall be free”

Wasteland, Baby! by Hozier
“And the day that we’ll watch the death of the sun
That the cloud and the cold and those jeans you have on
Then you’ll gaze unafraid as they sob from the city roofs”

 

62F9DC83BDFF20522FA45EAF9D805A42